Employer's Obligations for Alaska State Payroll Taxes- Updated on Feb 15, 2023 - 11:00 AM by 123PayStubs Team
With 123PayStubs, you can know the tax liabilities for the pay period and generate pay stubs instantly for salaried or hourly employees and contractors in Alaska.
To create stubs, enter a few basic details like company and employee information, earnings, and pay schedule information. That's it! Our Alaska paystub generator will do all the math for you and generate pay stubs with accurate tax calculations.
Also, 123PayStubs provides information about the payroll requirements for the state.
Calculate Alaska State Payroll Taxes and Generate Paystubs Instantly
What employers should know about the Alaska State Payroll Taxes?
123PayStubs will be suitable for those who are doing payroll on their own. As, 123PayStubs covers all the information required for Alaska state withholding taxes and provides you with the exact details to keep payroll under your control.
Apart from the federal withholding, employers in Alaska are also responsible for certain state payroll tax requirements which are listed below.
Alaska State Minimum Wage Requirements
The minimum wage rate for the state of Alaska has increased to $10.19/hr from $9.89/hr.
Also, Alaska requires employers to pay their employees daily overtime pay. That is, they are entitled to get 1.5 times their regular pay rate for hours worked beyond 8 hours per day.
Alaska State New Hire Reporting
Employers must report their new hires and rehired employees to the state agency within 20 days of their employment. Employers can send copies of Form W-4 to the New Hire Unit or may report it online to the Alaska Child Support Service Division.
Every late report will be subjected to a penalty of $10.
Filing New Hire Report Form Online
Employers may file their employees' new hire report forms via the internet through myAlaska. They may charge employees a fee of $1 to cover up the reporting costs.
Mailing New Hire Report Form
Employers can also send copies of Form W-4 or new hire reports by fax to the Child Support Services Division.
Here’s the address:
Anchorage, AK 99501.
Alaska State Withholding Tax
- Alaska does not have a state withholding requirement and therefore there are no state income taxes. But, employers and employees in Alaska are supposed to contribute toward unemployment taxes.
- Alaska does not have any reciprocal agreements with any other states.
Alaska State Unemployment Insurance TAX (SUI)
- Alaska SUTA wage base limit for 2020: $41,500
- Alaska SUTA tax rates for 2020: 1.0 to 5.4%
- Alaska SUTA tax rates for new employers: Starting from 1.09% (vary by NAICS classification)
Alaska State Local Taxes
The Alaska state does not have any local taxes.
Other Payroll Requirements for Alaska
Alaska Termination Pay: When an employee voluntarily resigns from the job, or is laid off, or suspended due to a dispute, employers must pay the employees their wages by the next three business days.
When is the Alaska state payroll tax payment due?
As there is only unemployment insurance that must be paid by the employer, tax payments fall due each quarter.
For this, employers must register for an unemployment insurance account electronically or by using the Alaska Employer Registration Form.
Alaska State Deposit Requirement
Employers can deposit their unemployment taxes online by using the myAlaska application.
Unemployment Tax Filings
Employers are required to file Form TQ01C each quarter by the end of the month following the close of the previous quarter.
Form TQ01C is Alaska Quarterly Contribution Report Wage Form
Employers can file the unemployment insurance form online.
When is Form TQ01C due?
- For Quarter 1, the forms are due by April 30
- For Quarter 2, the forms are due by July 31
- For Quarter 3, the forms are due by October 31
- For Quarter 4, the forms are due by January 31
If the deadline falls on a weekend or any legal holiday, then the forms are due on the next business day.
Annual Tax Filings
As Alaska does not have any state withholding requirements, there are no state taxes. Also, the state does not require independent contractors to file Form 1099-MISC too.
123PayStubs is more than a paystub generator.
No matter which part of Alaska your business operates in, our Alaska paystub generator will let you create pay stubs for your employees and contractors with accurate tax calculations including all cities like Anchorage, Fairbanks and Juneau. You only have to provide a few basic information such as company, employee and salary details and our pay stub generator will calculate all the applicable taxes swiftly based on the information provided. It will take less than 2 minutes to generate a pay stub. Employees and contractors in Alaska can use the pay stubs as proof of income.
Still have questions about our online paystub generator?
Reach out our customer support team by chat or email for any questions that you may have regarding our paystub generator.