Employer's Obligations for Florida State Payroll Taxes- Updated on July 30, 2020 - 08:00 PM by 123PayStubs Team
With 123PayStubs, you can know the tax liabilities for the pay period and generate pay stubs instantly for salaried or hourly employees and contractors in Florida.
To create stubs, enter a few basic details like company and employee information, earnings, and pay schedule information. That's it! Our Florida paystub generator will do all the math for you and generate pay stubs with accurate tax calculations.
Also, 123PayStubs provides information about the payroll requirements for the state of Florida.
Calculate Florida State Payroll Taxes and Generate Paystubs Instantly.
What Employers Should Know About The Florida State Payroll Taxes?
123PayStubs will be suitable for those who are doing payroll on their own. As 123PayStubs covers all the information required for Florida state withholding taxes and provides you with the exact details to keep payroll under your control.
Apart from the federal withholding, employers in Florida are also responsible for certain state payroll tax requirements which are listed below.
Florida State Minimum Wage Requirements
The minimum wage rate for Florida's state is $8.56/hr, effective from January 1, 2020. The state also imposes a minimum wage of $5.54/hr for tipped employees, in addition to their tips.
If an employer is found liable for violating minimum wage requirements, then they are subject to a penalty of $1,000 per violation, payable to the state.
Florida State New Hire Reporting
Employers must report their new hires and rehired employees to the state agency within 20 days of their employment. Employers can send the new hire copies to the New Hire Unit or may report it online to the Florida Child Support Services for Employers.
Filing New Hire Report Form Online
Employers may file their employees' new hire report forms electronically through the Florida Department of Revenue.
Mailing New Hire Report Form
Employers can also send copies of new hire reports by fax to the Child Support Services Division.
Here’s the address:
P.O. Box 6500
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6500
Phone: (888) 854-4791
Fax: (888) 854-4762
Florida State Withholding Tax
- Florida does not have a state withholding requirement and therefore there are no state income taxes. But, employers in Florida are supposed to contribute toward unemployment taxes.
- Florida does not have any state disability insurance too.
Florida State Unemployment Insurance TAX (SUI)
- Florida SUTA wage base limit for 2020: $7,000
- Florida SUI tax rates for 2020: 0.1 to 5.4%
- Florida SUTA tax rates for new employers: 2.7% for 2020
Other Payroll Requirements for Florida
- Florida Termination Pay: Florida law does not mandate any specific pay periods as the state does not require employers to produce employees’ final paychecks immediately after they are terminated.
- Employers are statutorily required by the state to make child remittances via online if they had 10 or more employees in any quarter, or were subject to an amount of $20,000. In the other cases, payments can be mailed to the below address:
P.O. Box 8500
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-8500
Florida State Local Taxes
Florida Termination Pay: Florida law does not mandate any specific pay periods as the state does not require employers to produce employees’ final paychecks immediately after they are terminated.
Employers are statutorily required by the state to make child remittances via online if they had 10 or more employees in any quarter, or were subject to an amount of $20,000. In the other cases, payments can be mailed to the below address:
P.O. Box 8500
Tallahassee, Florida 32314-8500
When is the Florida State Payroll Tax Payment Due?
As there is only unemployment insurance that must be paid by the employer, tax payments fall due each quarter. Employers doing domestic service must file form RT-7 annually.
Employers must complete the Florida Business Tax Application (DR-1) to determine whether they are liable to pay reemployment taxes. Registration can be completed online.
Florida State Deposit Requirement
Employers can deposit their unemployment taxes online to the Florida Department of Revenue.
- Form RT-6 is Employer’s Quarterly Report for reemployment assistance taxes.
Reports are due even if the business does not have any employees or paid no wages during any quarter.
Employers with individuals who perform domestic service must file the Employer’s Reemployment Tax Annual Report for Employers of Domestic Employees Only (RT-7) in December of each year.
When is Form RT-6 and RT-7 Due?
Here are the due dates for filing Form RT-6
- For Quarter 1, the forms are due by April 30
- For Quarter 2, the forms are due by July 31
- For Quarter 3, the forms are due by October 31
- For Quarter 4, the forms are due by January 31
Form RT-7 is due each year in December.
If the deadline falls on a weekend or any legal holiday, then the forms are due on the next business day.
Annual Tax Filings
As Florida does not have any state withholding requirements, there are no state taxes. It’s only Form RT-7 that must be filed annually.
123PayStubs is more than a paystub generator.
No matter which part of Florida your business operates in, our Florida paystub generator will let you create pay stubs for your employees and contractors with accurate tax calculations including all cities like Miami, Jacksonville and Tampa. You only have to provide a few basic information such as company, employee and salary details and our pay stub generator will calculate all the applicable taxes swiftly based on the information provided. It will take less than 2 minutes to generate a pay stub. Employees and contractors in Florida can use the pay stubs as proof of income.