Louisiana Paystub Generator

Generate paystubs with accurate Louisiana State Tax Withholding Calculations.
Get First Paystub for Free
Limited time offer
$5.99 $3.99
louisianaMap

Employer's Obligations for Louisiana State Payroll Taxes

- Updated on Aug 04, 2020 - 08:00 PM by 123PayStubs Team

With 123PayStubs, you can know the tax liabilities for the pay period and generate pay stubs instantly for salaried or hourly employees and contractors in Louisiana.

To create stubs, enter a few basic details like company and employee information, earnings, and pay schedule information. That's it! Our Louisiana paystub generator will do all the math for you and generate pay stubs with accurate tax calculations.

Also, 123PayStubs provides information about the payroll requirements for the state of Louisiana.

Calculate Louisiana State Payroll Taxes and Generate Paystubs Instantly

What Employers should know about the Louisiana State Payroll Taxes?

123PayStubs will be suitable for those who are doing payroll on their own. 123PayStubs covers all the information required for Louisiana state withholding taxes and provides you with the exact details to keep payroll under your control.

Apart from the federal withholding, employers in Louisiana are also responsible for certain state payroll tax requirements which are listed below.

Louisiana State Minimum Wage Requirements

The State of Louisiana has set $7.25 per hour as same as that of the federal minimum wage rate for all employees, with a limited exception including student workers and tipped employees

Employers in Louisiana have to meet the minimum wage requirement and their worker’s rights as required by the Louisiana State labor law or Federal law.

Employees under 20 years of age must be paid a training wage of $4.25/hr for the first 90 days of employment.

Louisiana State New Hire Reporting

All employers are required to report new hires or rehired employees with the state agency within 20 days of their joining.

State and Federal law demand employers to file re-hired and newly hired employees to the Louisiana directory of new hires.

The Louisiana State Directory of New Hires makes it easy for employers to report new hires. They can report new hires either online or can use a printed list.

Filing New Hire Report Form Online

New hire reports can be filed online and employers will receive an immediate confirmation upon successful submission of reports.

Mailing New Hire Reports

Employers can have their software create a printed list containing new hire information. The list should be generated including the employee’s name, address, Federal Employer Identification Number, and Social Security Number.

Or, the employers can choose to submit New hire form.

Paper forms are to be mailed to the following address:

date
Louisiana Directory of New Hires
PO Box 142513
Austin, TX 78714-2513
Phone: 888-223-1461
Fax: 888-223-1462

Louisiana State Withholding Tax

  • The employer should get Form L-4 (Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate) from their employees to determine their employee’s taxable income.
  • There is no supplemental rate of withholding for Louisiana.
  • Louisiana doesn’t have any reciprocal agreements with other states.

Louisiana State Unemployment Insurance TAX (SUI)

  • Louisiana SUTA wage base limit for 2020: $7,700
  • LouisianaSUTA tax rates for 2020: 0.09% to 6.2%
  • Louisiana SUTA tax rates for new employers: 1.14% to 2.85% (based upon industry and rates classification)

Other Louisiana State Payroll Requirements

Louisiana Termination Pay: Employees who got discharged, fired, laid off, or terminated by the employer must be paid off with all remaining pending due by the next payday or within 15 days. The earnings can be paid through the usual pay channels or by mail if requested by the employee.

Withholding for child support can be paid online, and the amount will be credited to the child support account within 4 business days. Or, payments can be made via check or money order and must be mailed to the address below:

date
Centralized Collection Unit
PO Box 260222
Baton Rouge, LA 70826
Phone: 888-524-3578

When are Louisiana State Payroll Tax Payments due?

The state of Louisiana requires all employers to remit unemployment insurance at the end of the quarter, and state income taxes based on the filing method specified by the state.

The state deposit requirements can be deposited electronically by using the Louisiana Department of Revenue’s Taxpayer Access Point (LaTAP) online system.

Quarterly Deposit Requirement

  • Every employer who deducts and withholds less than $500, from the combined wages of all employees within any calendar month, is required to be paid on a quarterly basis.
  • The due date for quarterly tax filing is on or before the last day of the month following the end of such calendar quarter.
  • Form L-1V Withholding Payment Voucher must be submitted to report payments except for the last period of the quarter.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the payment must be made on the next business day.

Monthly Deposit Requirements

  • Every employer who deducts and withholds $500, but less than $2,000, from the combined wages of all employees within any calendar month, must submit a monthly L-1 return and must pay the tax withheld.
  • Monthly payments due occur at the end of the month.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the payment must be made on the next business day.

Semi-Monthly Deposit Requirement

  • Every employer who detects and withholds $2000 or more from the combined wages of all employees within any calendar month must file semi-monthly returns and must pay the tax withheld.
  • Form L-1 must be filed to report semi-monthly returns to the Division of Revenue.

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the payment must be made on the next business day.

Quarterly Louisiana Payroll Tax Filings

Employers are required to file Form L-1 each quarter.

  • Form L-1 Employer Return of State Income Tax Withheld: File this form to reconcile the Louisiana withholding payments made for the calendar quarter.
  • The due dates to file quarterly forms are:
    • April 30, for the 1st quarter,
    • July 31, for the 2nd quarter,
    • October 31, for the 3rd quarter, and
    • January 31, for the 4th quarter.

Form LDOL-ES4, Employer Wage and Tax Report, must be filed to report unemployment tax, and you can file your unemployment taxes electronically using the Louisiana Workforce Commission’s online system.

Annual Louisiana Payroll Tax Filings

Employers are required to file Form L-3, Transmittal of Withholding Tax Statements, to the Division of Revenue no later than February 27th.

Form L-3 is the Employer’s Annual Reconciliation of Louisiana Income Tax Withheld used to reconcile the total amount of income tax withheld

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return must be filed by the next business day.

123PayStubs is more than a paystub generator.

No matter which part of Louisiana your business operates in, our Louisiana paystub generator will let you create pay stubs for your employees and contractors with accurate tax calculations including all cities like Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Lafayette. You only have to provide a few basic information such as company, employee and salary details and our pay stub generator will calculate all the applicable taxes swiftly based on the information provided. It will take less than 2 minutes to generate a pay stub. Employees and contractors in Louisiana can use the pay stubs as proof of income.

Still have questions about our online paystub generator?

Reach out our customer support team by chat, email or phone for any questions that you may have regarding our paystub generator.
Chat Support

Get In Touch

123PayStubs

202 E Main St,
Rock Hill, SC 29730.